Sam Rosen Elementary is a picturesque school located in Northside near the historic Stockyards. Established in 1909, our school was built on land donated by immigrant developer Sam Rosen. The 1927 building was the second building constructed on this site to accommodate the population growth of the North Side. The first building, constructed in 1909 and designed by M. L Waller, was demolished in 1988. Wiley G. Clarkson, an architect who designed many schools in the 1920s and 1930s, designed the present building. The contractor was K. H. Muse. Clarkson’s design of the T-plan building was influence by the Spanish Baroque style with its hipped roof of red clay tile and embellished entrance surrounds. The windows, which are mostly paired, have been partially infilled with panels.
The building appears to be eligible for the National Register as the work of a prominent local architect and for its association with public education in Fort Worth. The school’s namesake, Sam Rosen, was a Russian immigrant who settled in North Fort Worth. He was a merchant and the developer of Rosen Heights. He was known for never foreclosing on a home. A new wing was added in 1989.